Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Doubt in GROUP By clause

former_member182337
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to HANA and trying out various sql queries to check the functions of the same. I executed one query and i got the result. The issue is when i "GROUP BY" on the same where condition the result is not coming.

select vbeln, doc_cat, doc_type , val1,val2 , order_qty,trgt_qty from <the model> where doc_cat = 'G' and order_qty <> 0 and trgt_qty <> 0.

For the above select query , i am able to get the output [ 10 rows of data]

select vbeln, doc_cat, doc_type ,sum( val1),sum(val2) , sum(order_qty),sum(trgt_qty) from <the model> where doc_cat = 'G' and order_qty <> 0  and trgt_qty <> 0 group by vbeln,doc_cat,doc_type ;

For the above query, the result is blank. I mean, there is no output displayed. Only the columns are displayed. If for the first query the output is displayed then the second query also there has to be an output isnt it?

Can some one help please?

Thanks,

Prem

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Your post does not contain information specific enough to see what's possibly wrong here.

As with all problems, reduce this one down to the minimum and let us know your exact steps.

Create a table.

Insert some data.

Build your model on top of that.

Run the simple query.

Run the aggregated query.

Does the issue still occur?

If it doesn't - what's different to your <the model> ?

- Lars

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

former_member182337
Participant
0 Kudos

The query was wrong. Modified it slightly and it works now..Thanks all.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Prem,

are you aware that (when using calculated views within your model) a query against a view executed in the calculation engine could end up in different results than a query against a view executed in the SQL engine?

This could be your underlying issue 🙂

Best regards,

Tobias

former_member182337
Participant