Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installation for IDM 7.2

santiobejero
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Gurus,

I am new in IDM, just finished reading most of the documentation (so just to have a background what are the steps, background etc. behind IDM). So now, I will now start the installation process. This is the first time I will be installing a system or an SAP Product. I just read in the documentation:

“It is possible to run the script file from the server
running Management Console which has the Oracle Client for Microsoft Windows
Installed. You need to install the 32 bit version of the Oracle Client if you are
running a 32-bit Java Virtual Machine in Microsoft.”

I, by the way needs to install it in Oracle. I have already downloaded the SAP IDM 7.2 Installers from SAP Marketplace.

Below is my system set up:

System Type: 64-bit

Few are my question (I apologize if my questions may sound beginner like, but as I have said, I am new in Installation. )

1. How do I run the scripts in th MMC, I already checked and it is checking only for .msc file types?

2. If Oracle Client needs to be installed, do I still download a separate installer from Oracle for the client or the SAP Download for the IDM already have that Oracle Client)?

3. What is your preffered oracle version based on my system setup?

Really appreciate any inputs.

Thank you!

Regards,

Santi

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

ChrisPS
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Santi,

1. How do I run the scripts in the MMC, I already checked and it is checking only for .msc file types?

-> I would advise copying the scripts to the Oracle db server and run them from there which will avoid errors in the install

2. If Oracle Client needs to be installed, do I still download a separate installer from Oracle for the client or the SAP Download for the IDM already have that Oracle Client?