Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Virtual Directory Server

santiobejero
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I am new with IDM, I am starting on reading on vast numbers of documents in SAP Marketplace and reading discussion in thsi space. On most of the documents I was reading through, VDS is one of the key player in IDM which is a rule of thumb to have VDS in the system landscape. My question will be if VDS only serves as the acts as a single access point for clients retrieving or updating data in multiple data repositories, as it provides a uniformed view of the data in real-time can connecting your other repositories directly to the Identity Center will it still work. Maybe just to simply, what are the Cons and Pros of having VDS? I have seen as well in some diagrams that it is optional. Appreciate the help in advance.

Thanks,

Santi

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member2987
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Santi,

VDS is really an incredibly powerful tool, that in my opinion, does not get the love and respect it deserves.

Besides being the gateway for HCM and GRC, it can be used to make just about any kind of data easily accessible by presenting it as LDAP.  It's also great for bringing together multiple repositories, not to mention creating customized LDAP authentication repositories without having to go through all of the fuss of setting up a new server, installing the LDAP of your choice, and then loading in the data.

Also with VDS, back end data stays in the back end and does not get replicated (yet again!) meaning that as back end data changes, so does the data in the Virtual store.

Take a look at the documentation on VDS, and what people are doing with it.  Feel free to post your inquiries here. We'll all try to help out!

Regards,

Matt

santiobejero
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Matt,