Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

the usage of SAP gateway

raffinkira
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I am a beginner of SAP gateway, I have been doing some research.

Now I am wondering what can SAP gateway do besides acting like a web-based database.

It says that by using REST and oData, resource can be operated. What does this resource mean? It seems it's more than just data.

Moreover, how REST style deal with the cases like some process-oriented ones?

For example, in my current project, we have developed decades of BAPIs and each one refers to a business senario.

We deployed these BAPIs as web services. But I can't imagine how to do the same thing by using REST?

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

AshwinDutt
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Yu,

SAP Gateway is an interface which enables end users to consume the backend business logic via REST based Open Data (OData) format.

With SAP  Gateway we can generate services based on BOR objects, RFCs.. in order to consume the backend business logic.

SAP Gateway is an evolutionary step to support an expanding range of services and offer them via lightweight application and user interface technologies that are intended for consumption by end users.

Referring the below will help :

Regards,

Ashwin

raffinkira
Participant
0 Kudos

Thanks for the reply and links.

But one more question, if web application wants consume backend logic, why don't just use web service or other interface techs?

AshwinDutt
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

According to me SAP Gateway is built to enable business application which are on back end systems onto mobile devices ( lightweight services ).

Referring the below may also help ->

http://scn.sap.com/community/process-orchestration/blog/2013/08/09/a-gateway-to-lightweight-services...

Regards,

Ashwin

former_member184867
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Here are my thoughts on this topic...