Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP user License cost savings

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear gurus,

I am a Basis admin and assigned a SAP security project by our management. The project is to verify/validate all user definations and their classifications.

Most of the users are having only display access in our production landscape and they are all classified as professional user.

To me professional user means, having access to multiple tcodes with create/update/delete/display access.

In our landscape  users having only display access are also classified as professional users.

Is the above classification is true? We checked our contracts with SAP and there is no such proper definations.

Any thoughts (we planned to open a ticket with SAP also) or any one have this type of classifications.

Also there are some users using system to run one tcode per day (ST03N shows only 3 steps for that users per day). Those 3 steps belongs to a display tcode  also. They do have other accesses like printing reports, printing screens, downloading custom table data to a spreadsheets etc.

Is these consider as professional user classification?

Our previous security user defined all these classifications and left the company. I need to understand the process first and where should I begin?

I think above users should be classified as Limited users and this will save some cost for us.(lot of SAP blogs says this and not sure this is true or not).

Currently I am reading our contrancts with SAP and not sure that is the correct process to start with.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

thanks and best regards,

KK

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

yakcinar
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hello Kannappan,