cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What database information to provide during the setup of the Data Services 4.2 SP4?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear colleagues,

I am new to the topic of SAP Data Services setup and installation. I am just installing a SAP Data Services Installation on a virtual machine and ran into a problem I have problems to fix. I assume this has already happened to some of you and the answer might be simple, I just fail to find the solution.

So far the following things have been done successfully:

1. Setup of a new database with a dedicated user for it for the Informatipn Platform Services (IPS) CMS.
  2. Installation of the IPS using the user and database created under 1.
  3. Setup of a new database with another dedicated user to use for creating thze first local repository as part of the BODS setup routine.
  4. I created a new system DSN in the ODBC Data Source Administrator for the new database, but this did not help to solve the issue sketched below

Now I provide the credentials of this new database to the setup dialog step as stated in the screenshot:

When I click on the "Get Version" botton the system says: "The specified database does not contain a valid repository."

Clicking on "Next" actually does nothing at all.

What am I doing wrong? I indeed struggled a bit to tell from the installation guide whether I am supposed to create a new database for the new local repository, or whether I am just supposed to provide a user and password to let the setup create a database of its own. I have indeed found a website where the auther states that one is supposed to provide the MSSQL sa user credentials here. This sounds very odd to me, so I refused to do it up to now.

Can someone help me and point me to the right directoon here?

If I am lacking some important info here to solve the issue just say so.

Best regards and thanks in advance for any help you can provide

Carsten

Accepted Solutions (1)