Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is association and navigation from ABAP perspective

Sumankalyan17
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I have learining Netweaver gateway but I am facing some doubts in understandin some concepts.

Could somebody please explain what is association and navigation between entitites, from an ABAP perspective.

Being an abap developer I am trying relate to an abap point of view,but I am unable to understand this one .

Any guidance would be very much appreciated.

Regards

Suman.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

kammaje_cis
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Suman,

I think it is better not to compare DB Tables and OData model. Similarities are only upto an extent.

Few pointers

- Associations say that two entities are related. Example: Employee and Company. Associations do not have any direction. Navigation refers to an Association and says if you can navigate from Employee to Company or/and Company to Employee. A navigation from Employee to Company cannot be used other way.

- If there is a navigation defined from Employee to Company, when you fetch Employee entity, there will be a URI to navigate from Employee to Company. So Navigations actually represent navigations your UI might have.

- Navigations are used in URLs. But Associations are not.

Thanks

Krishna

Sumankalyan17
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Krishna,

in one of the examples online ,we are creating sales order by triggering NGW.In it we are creating a association and navigation between the header and item entity set .

Is it mandatory to maintain it .

i understand their meaning ,but i am unable to get as to what is their usage in abap devlopment point of view or how are going to use them in coding .

Regards

Suman

kammaje_cis
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Examples of use of Navigations:

- You want to create Header with items. Then you need navigation from header to Item