cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enabling end users to alter reports - what is the best way?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I'm new to Crystal.

What is the best way to allow end users to alter reports?  I don't want to expose the Developer Client to end users as the complexity level is pretty high and requires scripting for some DB fields.

For example, what about using an interactive HTML viewer, that allows them to use templates to alter the report?  How flexible is this approach and is there any good documentation on that subject?

For instance, does the template restrict the user to only using fields already exposed in the template?  Can they modify ranges on the fields, like date ranges and/or enter in a new value for a field, used to query the DB?

Are templates/HTML viewer the way to go, or is there a better approach entirely?

Thanks,

Mike

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Any suggestions on this topic or is my question un-clear?

Thanks,

Mike

DellSC
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Your question is not unclear.  However, there really is no way to do this that is not incredibly complicated.  It's generally not supported.

-Dell

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

unfortunately your question is not clear enough.

From what your wrote , i guess you want to let them run a report for a specific date or  group of products. Where the user can enter that date or data range or the product group.

If that is what you want , yes you can do that perfectly fine with parameters.

You can define parameters as free entry, as predefined lists, as data coming from the database, which is queried , whenever the report is run, etc.

Hope that helps, if not , please redefine the question

regards alex

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Alex,