cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BI Launchpad & XI vs Web Services SDK - BusinessObjects 4.x

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am new to using the .NET SDK and have noticed that there are two different versions that do similar things. I am looking to add functionality into my company's .NET-based website where we can add BO users on the fly into preset groups. I noticed that this administrative functionality is available with the XI .NET SDK (CrystalDecisions,etc) but it is not available with the Web Services SDK (BusinessObjects.DSWS,etc). Is this something that can be done with the Web Services SDK? If not, is it a good practice to use the XI SDK for Web Applications?

I am also looking to log into the BI Launchpad programmatically so user's do not see the login screen. I have tried logging the user into BO using the Web Services SDK and saving the proper information into cookies that are created when one logs into the BI Launchpad. While I created all the proper cookies, when I navigate to the webpage with the embedded Launchpad it will not recognize these cookies, prompt for login credentials, and overwrite them if I log in. I set the property allowInsecureToken=true in BILaunchpad.properties so I can at least work with it in an IFrame. Is this a good way to go about this task? If not, is there a better way?

I have been working on this for a week or two and read a lot of articles, viewed samples, experimented with code, etc. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Dustin

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

DellSC
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

If you're going to use the .NET SDK, you'll need to use the same version as the BO system that you're connecting to - the XI version of the SDK is really old and won't connect to the 4.x versions of BO.