Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delta load for fact table.

former_member214071
Participant
0 Kudos

Good day everyone.

I'm new to SAPDS, starting to build a DW from a retail sales system.  What is the "best/must used/common" method to make the delta load of the fact table.

I've done delta load for dimension tables using table comparison, but I believe table comparision for fact tables is not a good idea.

Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

severin_thelen
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Emerson,

why do you think, table comparison is not a good idea?

If you want to have a delta load and you do not have any CDC support from the database, you have to use the table comparison (or create your own comparison in a custom transform or validation).

However, do you really need a delta load on the fact table? It is much easier to create a full load.

Regards

Severin

former_member214071
Participant
0 Kudos

Hello Severin, thanks for fast reply.

I believe table comparison does a full scan at source and target then calculates the difference, so for a sales fact containing millions of records I think could be not a good idea (if my perception is wrong then I can go with table comparison transform).

Well I mean delta load for loads done after initial full load, so after a full load it only inserts the records that have been changed since last load.

former_member187605
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Everything you want to know about the DS Table_comparison transform can be found in

I use that transform both for target CDC of both facts tables and dimensions. If you want to achieve highest performance, you've got to combine with source CDC (based on last_modification timestamp, sequence number, log table, db-based CDC...).

former_member214071
Participant
0 Kudos

Hello Dirk,

Thanks for your reply and sharing the links, it will help to better understand DS.  Will give it a try to the table comparison transform.