cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to configure Oracle DB as backend in SMP 3.0?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello All,

I'm new in Agentry apps development, and I follow the How-to Build an Agentry Based Mobile App from Scratch guide, and it works fine, but now, I'm testing another app trying to access to and Oracle DB as backend.

I found that every app needs to be configure in it's own backend.

But when I try to use Oracle DB as backend in an Agentry app, I don't know where to define the IP of the DB and test the connection.

I created an Agentry App in Eclipse, and connect the Data Source Explorer to the Oracle Database to create the Steps for Add, Edit, Delete and Get data from a table.

I found that it is necessary to install an Oracle client in the server where is currently installed the SMP 3.0 Server, in order to access to the TNSNames, but I can't install that clients, because SMP is installed in a Linux Server.

I hope someone can help me.

Regards

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Cesar,

Did you figure out how to solve this? I have the same goal, but with the Derby DB.

Regards

Luciano

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Luciano,

As Bill answered my question, I have to avoid that solution by now, because my architect told me that is better to use JDBC with java to best perform in the application.

I hope it will be useful.

Regards

Former Member
0 Kudos

Yes, it is helpful. Thank you, Cesar!

bill_froelich
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

You will need to obtain the Oracle client libraries for Linux and follow the Oracle installation instructions for a Linux install.  Once the client is installed I believe you simply configure the tnsnames.ora file just like you would on Windows and point the Agentry backend connection to the appropriate TNS names entry.