cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to set qty as char value

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Experts,

I am relatively new to variant configuration. I am learning by referring LOVC document. Unfortunately I don't have any VC expert in my team. I need a small help in my project. The requirement to set value of char automatically to same as qty,

E.g. if main configurable item LAPTOP is of qty 1. Then char MOUSE should have value as one 1. Can you please guide me on how to do it?

I can create a procedure and use $SET_DEFAULT ($SELF, <characteristic>, <term>). How to set the <term> value equal to main item quantity?

Regards,

Tushar

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Tushar,

Well, if you see this requirement is not logical since quantities proportion will be taken care by BOM itself. I mean that if you have created a BOM which would contain Mouse etc (as components), then based on header material quantities (in your case laptop) quantities of BOM will be set automatically (multiply as per header quantities). Considering that this case is for practice purpose, I have following possible solution.

I'm answering with following assumption:

The characteristic MOUSE already has values 1,2,3 and so on....

Solution:

Create a reference characteristic LAPTOP_QTY with reference to VBAP-KWMENG.

Now, write a procedure as

$SET_DEFAULT ($SELF, <CHARCTERISTIC (MOUSE)>, 'TECH NAME OF CHAR VALUE REPRESENTING 1') IF $SELF.LAPTOP_QTY = 1,

$SET_DEFAULT ($SELF, <CHARCTERISTIC (MOUSE)>, 'TECH NAME OF CHAR VALUE REPRESENTING 2') IF $SELF.LAPTOP_QTY = 2 and so on...

Characteristic value in dependency must be in single quotes. Note the red quotes in dependency above.

Assign this procedure at Configuration profile level.

Please note that this dependency will only work from VA01, not from CU50.