cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP Enhancements

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

any of you guys know where can i find more info about this topic? I mean, historical info about it. Some detailed info about how SAP came with with and the purpose of it.

I'm doing a master thesis about SAP Enhancements and i need this kind of info.

Can i ask SAP for it? is there any contact to ask for this kind of stuff?

Thank you very much!

God bless.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member182378
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

bruno,

SAP has provided some standard functionalities. A company can use these for their day to day transactions, reporting etc. But in case company feels that there are gaps, the specific development can be done in SAP to meet these gaps. These specific developments will be applicable only for the company and not for all other companies using SAP. These are called SAP Enhancements.

The gaps are first documented (called functional specification document: FS), then the code is written to implement this FS. SAP has given some "places" where these codes can be written called USEREXITS

User Exits In Sales Document Processing - System Modifications - SAP Library

After coding, testing is done. If ok, the code (change request) is moved finally to production system.

Your thesis should include real time examples which showcase the benefit of SAP Enhancements. You can find examples in various forums (based on modules, SD, MM, FI) in SCN.

Enhancements involve cost - both in implementation and in support

I have seen several companies that do not have proper documentation of these Enhancements which causes problems, at a later stage. In some cases, Enhancements have never been used by business (there could be many reasons)

TW

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

This message was moderated.

former_member182378
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

bruno,