cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calling a function module in a File to IDOC Scenario

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi experts,

I'm developing a File-->XI-->IDOC scenario in which I have to populate some IDOC fields calling a custom FunctionModule that resides in ECC.

The input parameters of FM call are fields of the file (i.e. the supplier ID), output value will be put in IDOC field.

Which is the best to call a function module and integrate it in my scenario? I'm new to that.

Thanks!!

Fabio

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi experts,

I'm a bit confused about your responses.

My request was to call an ECC FunctionModule with XI under a message mapping File-->IDOC, but as I can see RFCLookup is used to lookup directly an ECC table, do you agree?

So you mean that I don't need the FunctionModule that ABAB developers have done for the scenario, but only the name of the table to lookup?

Is it correct?

Thanks

Fabio

PeterJonker
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Because of performance in your scenario it would be best to use an user exit in ECC when processing the IDoc since it is already sent to ECC. No need for RFC lookup. Since you are delivering the IDoc to the system where the values that you need are residing it makes sense to do this lookup in this target system when the IDOc has arrived. If you need values from another system then the RFC lookup makes more sense.

Most IDocs have user exits and otherwise a custom function module an be assigned to the IDOc processing in which the functionality is added.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Peter,

thank for your reply.

I will propose your solution to the business analyst.

But if they won't accept this solution, you think is possible to call a RFC function module in my mapping to retrieve some values to populate the IDOC?

I have to write an UDF?

I think that RFClookup doesn't work for me, because I need to call a FM not to read a table. Do you agree?