Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Conceptual Help request on Clients and Systems for new install of 7.4

former_member257798
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Greetings to all,
I am an SAP product support engineer that is *Brute Forcing* my way through an install of “SAP”. I have run into some conceptual problems and could use the advice of someone who has been through it.
I am struggling with the concept of clients and systems in the context of what I need to do next to reach my goal of installing the product that I support.

These are the details I believe to be relevant to my question:
1) Started with WIN2008 OS on a VM
2) I installed MSsql 2012
3) I installed SAP NW 7.4 Support Release 2 / Application Server ABAP / Standard System
4) I installed SAP NW 7.4 Support Release 2 / Application Server JAVA / Standard System
5) I installed SAP GUI and got it connected to my ABAP instance, stuff works… component lists, SU01, etc
6) I connected to NWA with the browser and have the start page up - http://srvpcm:50200/startPage
7) Need your input
😎 Complete the initial licensing for ABAP and JAVA

9) Complete Install my product components

I believe that my next step is to make a client copy, so that I will have client 100 to work with. I am confused about the systems part. I wish to gain some practice with transports eventually with this VM. Can someone guide me as to when it makes sense to and how to create the system so I can work on “transports from QA to Prod”?

I am scraping my way through various posts and content but experienced guidance would be wonderful. I am taking on this task because, currently a product I support does not have an instance that we can destroy. We only have the one shared with dev and this limits my growth and ability to support our customers.

Kind Regards,
John Harris
Senior Support Engineer, SAP Active Global Support,
SAP America, Inc., 1001 Summit Blvd, #2100, Atlanta, GA 30319, USA

Accepted Solutions (1)