cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Attach/Deatch method with MS SQL Server 2005/2012 SAP ECC

0 Kudos

Dear Experts,

I am new to MS SQL Server. Currently i am working with a client on OS/DB Upgrade:

Current Setup - Windows 2008R2, MS SQL Server 2005, SAP ECC 6.0 SR3.

Target - Windows 2012, MS SQL Server 2012, SAP ECC 6.0 SR3.

I went through couple of notes in SMP. I need to do a System copy of SQL 2005 to my test Server. My plan is...

1. restore FULL ONLINE BACKUP of PRD db to Freshly installed ECC 6.0 Test System and perform attach/detach method.

After attaching the DB should i run the SQL4SAP.vbs or to run "Database copy completion" in SWPM???

If i restore FULL ONLINE BACKUP with transaction log backup or differential backup (As my client is working 24/7-no downtime for offline backup) to my target should i run any additional commands like recover commands in ORACLE???

2. After that DB upgrade from SQL Server 2005 to 2012 according to the SAP doc sql2012_upgrade i got it from a note.

After executing all the steps do i need to run option "Database upgrade completion" or not needed???

Please help me and suggest...

Thanks in advance.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Matt_Fraser
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

The procedure for the system copy with SQL Server is fully described in the System Copy Guide. You can find the guide on the SMP at http://service.sap.com/instguides -> Release & Upgrade Info -> Installation & Upgrade Guides -> SAP NetWeaver -> SAP NetWeaver 7.0 (2004s) -> Installation -> 2 - Installation - SAP NetWeaver Systems -> System Copy: Systems Based on SAP NetWeaver 7.0/7.0 EHPs -> Windows: ABAP (http://service.sap.com/~sapidb/011000358700001419132012E).