cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Determining Version and Patch Install

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to the SAP world and I'm still trying to figure out the best way to determine version information for supporting new installs.

We have a new consultant coming into the office and he needs the SAP GUI for Windows. I've been tasked with helping him install the software. My problem is I don't know what all patches he needs to be in sync with us.

When I look at what I have this is what is displayed. The release is fairly straight forward but from there I don't know how to piece together what would be needed next. When I look at the patches page in the software downloads none of the numbers match up. I see one mention of the Patch level but that's rather vague to me.

My question is how do I decipher what he needs to be in sync with us from the patches page.

http://scn.sap.com/community/gui/blog/2013/05/29/sap-gui-730-download

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

bxiv
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

This is more along the lines of what does everyone at your company use for a version of SAP GUI?  If everyone is on the same version then you have a better way of troubleshooting what some consider unique issues interfacing with the various SAP systems.

I would highly recommend you updated to PL 10 for 730, and also keep in mind to make the versioning of SAP GUI worse, SAP also has hotfix levels to associate to the PL release.

The link you provided is only for the installation of SAP GUI, you have to navigate to support packs & patches to find the updated files.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the response. Everyone I believe is running what I'm running but don't quote me on that I haven't checked that many machines.

I think further down the link I posted there is another link for Windows Patches. I'm assuming I can get anything from there related to patches?