cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BPM question

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to BPM and trying out a scenario. I have a few questions regarding the way that BPM works.

I understand that BPM can only work with abstract message types. So lets say that I wanted to take an IDoc and run it through a BPM to split it into different messages and then process them in a certain order. Does that mean that I first have to make individual maps for each message type (abstract) that I want to work with in BPM?

To put this in another way, it seems to be the case that XI can't simply bring an outbound message into XI and stick it straight into the BPM process. It seems as though first the outbound message must be mapped and transformed into abstract messages before it can enter the BPM. In this case, how does the transformation step in BPM play in?

Could someone clear this process up for me? I looked at a few weblogs and documents but I'm still having a hard time wrapping my head around the process from a high level.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ethan,

Yes to work with BPM u have to have an abstract message type.Also IDOC can only be send outside and configured as receiver but not as Sender.

In BPM yr sender system and receiver system are joined through BPM and hence the dorect relation between them changes .As the message comes from sender and then goes to BPM .Here BPM acts as a receiver hence you have to define abstract message type to receive .Similarly for outgoin the sender system is actually BPM and hence and outgoin abstract message type

Internally u have to create addittional message type in BPM

Regards

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Ethan

The abstract interfaces are used when Message Interface doesn't have a defined direction (it is possible to be used in both directions, outbound/inbound).

You must create a Message Mapping for each type of message:

1- IDOC - MT1