Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loading Stored procedure in sybase

ssuratharajan
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I am trying to setup a backup for transaction log in sybase . I am refering to note 1588316 where script files are attached and the configuration scripts are given. I am able to take a database backup using sp_config_dump (stored Procedure) . Which is now scheduled in the DB13( DBACOCKPIT ).

But I am yet to setup transaction log backup which should happen every 30 mins as planned.

I am refering to the thread , Which describes a way to configure a script in SAPTOOLS . But when I try to load the file sp_dumptrans.sql using the steps described , I am getting some errors.

Please help me on this as I am new to Sybase . I am also attaching a screenshot of the error which shows up.

Thanks in advance

Regards,

Suratharajan .S

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Hello,

net password encryption is enabled by default for the ASE.

See SAP Note 1858378, just add -X at the end of your ISQL command and it should work.

With kind regards

Stefan

former_member188958
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Stefan is quite correct, my reply was incorrect - I was thinking about a different issue I've been struggling to diagnose where a DUMP command will fail with errors related to an encrypted connection between ASE and the Backup Server:

Open Server Error: 16400.10.0: srv__e3_create_encrypt3_context: Unexpected failure in comn_keypair_create.

Open Server Error: 16400.10.0: srv__e3_handshake: Unexpected failure in

srv__init_encrypt3.

Open Server Error: 16400.10.0: srv__handle_password_negotiation:

Unexpected failure in srv__e3_handshake.

These are the errors that seem to be related to the "net password encryption" option set on the SYB_BACKUP entry in sysservers, and are baffling because the DUMP command shouldn't involve a password negotiation.

-bret

ssuratharajan
Participant
0 Kudos

Dear Stefan ,