cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

shadow system during system upgrade

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to upgrade.I would like to know about Shadow System, how it will be created, what happens during the switch between the shadow and original system.

I had read the following blog which helped me to get clarity in the introduction part.

Appreciate if anyone can explain and share some document on this.

Cheers,

Febin Roy

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Febin,

If you are working on SAP upgrade project you will come across to this term – shadow system or instance and system switch.The background upgrades process. Basically by upgrade we want to get the newest functions that provider offers in its software product that we are currently using. For sure we want to get this done without an interruption to existing, running system. In reality there is always some interruption. We are just trying to minimize it as much as possible. So does the SAP. The background of shadow system is to minimize system downtime during the upgrade.

Shadow system is basically copy of system that is going to be upgraded. This copies system is a bit limited to original one. It has only technical repository (SAP Basis objects) of objects and you cannot run your business processes on it.  More over technical repository is upgraded into version of final release of to be upgraded system. Technically speaking it is used for modification adjustments (famous transactions SPAU and SPDD) and activation of objects. All the support packages and add-ons are imported into this instance as well. By them you get you system to the higher release. Let me mention also that shadow system run in the same database as its original system. They are running in parallel.