cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a HANA Database?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am trying to test the speed of a HANA database by creating a table and loading some data onto it and do some ah-hoc SQL against it.

Since I am new to HANA, I read the developer guide, registered for the free 1G account, downloaded the HANA Studio and using the HANA Cloud Platform Cockpit, all trying to create a table in a database and so far failed.

It seems from the Cockpit, I already have a HANA instance named dev, also there this a dev Schema created already.  The question is how I can create my table within the Cockpit?  Also how do I hook up the HANA Studio to my trial account?

Appreciate any helps!

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Mr.Kin Ng,

if you would like to connect your sap hana cloud platform with sap hana studio, you should follow this link:

http://scn.sap.com/community/developer-center/cloud-platform/blog/2013/07/16/using-hana-modeler-in-s...

for creating table in SAP HANA please take care of the following:

1- create a schema and save it as (MYSCHEMA.hdbschema)

Example:

schema_name="MYSCHEMA";

2- then create a table and save as (table.hdbtable)

Example:

table.schemaName = "MYSCHEMA";

table.tableType = COLUMNSTORE ;

table.description = "my first table";

table.columns = [

{name = "orderID" ;sqlType = NVARCHAR ;nullable = false ;length = 10 ;},

{name = "OrderItem" ;sqlType = NVARCHAR ;nullable = false ;length = 10 ;},

{name = "ProductId" ;sqlType = NVARCHAR ;nullable = false ;length = 10 ;},

{name = "Quantity" ;sqlType = NVARCHAR ;nullable = false ;length = 5 ;},

{name = "QuantityUnit" ;sqlType = NVARCHAR ;nullable = false ;length = 5;}

];

table.primaryKey.pkcolumns = ["orderID"];

then you will get your table created>>

enjoy with SAP HANA

best regards,

Murhaf Khaled

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Murhaf,

I have trouble following even the 1st step.