cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Agentry - Calculate Button

Former Member
0 Kudos

I have a transaction screen that needs a calculate button.  The calculate button will multiply two fields that are displayed on the screen and put the result in another field that is also displayed on the screen.  This needs to be done as the user is filling out the form, not before or after form entry.  What is the best way to do this in Agentry?

Tags edited by: Michael Appleby

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

You do this by an Update rule on the screen field you want updated. 

In your update rule:

- PROD

- - Screenfield1

- - Screenfield2

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Stephen!  I'm still fairly new to Agentry so I didn't understand the usage scenarios for update rules.

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

jason_latko
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Christopher,

Like Steve mentioned, update rule is the way to go.  It will recalculate every time data entry is done on the screen.  You cannot put buttons on transaction screens.

Jason Latko - Senior Product Developer at SAP

Former Member
0 Kudos

An update rule is definitely the way to go. I'm having some issues getting it to work though.  I tried using the properties of the transaction to do the calculation but I quickly determined that the transaction object did not update on the fly based on the data I'm entering in the form.  I then tried to use the displayed value of the field in the current screen.  It let me select the property but it did not apply the property to the rule.