cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what is the service to download the instacnce from history?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello All,

I'm fairly new to the BO world and would appreciate any help navigating my way through the API, we currently use BO SDK and are building a proof of concept with BO 4.1 RESTful services. I was able to schedule a document for generation.

I have scheduled the document with keepInstanceInHistory property to true. At a later point if I want to download this instance, which service should I be using? I've tried scheduling with SystemDestinationAndSpecificFolder option as well - which did not write the document in the folder specified.

we'd rather like to have the ability to download/save the instance on demand - for instance this could be wrapped behind a UI so that when user clicks a button, we want to downlod the report.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Pavan

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

daniel_paulsen
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Pavan,

What version (SP and Patch leve) are you using?  There was originally a limitation of scheduling to destinations of FTP and local filesystem, but I believe that was corrected around the BI4.1 SP03 timeframe (can't remember the exact version).

What format(s) are you scheduling to?   You should be able to access scheduled instances and return them as a binary stream using their mime-types (rather than a text stream) and then save the stream locally.

Dan

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Dan,

Thanks for your reply. We're using BI 4.1. I'm trying to schedule a PDF format using http://localhost:6405/biprws/raylight/v1/documents/1234/schedules.

Upon successful schedule, I get a scheduleId.

when I invoke http://localhost:6405/biprws/raylight/v1/documents/1234/schedules/34533 , I get the status of that schedule. how do I get the binary stream back (which service to use)? this is actually what we're looking for as this will be invoked via a user action.

Thanks,

Pavan