cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could not connect to host localhost on port 21212

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am trying to have my first experience with SAP and am trying to install "SAP NetWeaver AS ABAP 7.03 SP04 64-bit Trial, 3.912 GB". However I receive the following log error in a SAP delivery tool:

Error while connecting to communication partner - see preceding messages.

Could not connect to host localhost on port 21212.

java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect

java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect

21212 is being used by a java.exe. I close it and also close all SAP instances in the windows task manager and restart the installation process but I get the same message again. I also read other threads about a same issue, but could n't find out exactly what the cause is. 

Could any body know about this issue?

PS: I am new to SAP

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

divyanshu_srivastava3
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

Aug 25, 2014 4:51:11 AM [Info]: Starting HTTP server listening on port 4239 ...

Aug 25, 2014 4:51:11 AM [Error]: java.net.BindException: Address already in use: JVM_Bind

Check if this port 4239 is nor occupied by some other process.  If yes,  then kill that service.

Refer

Or use another port number.

Regards

divyanshu_srivastava3
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

There also a thread which gives you other areas to look into. Refer

Also, you have an entry for localhost in your services files. Use basic network test to find out the reason for timeout.

Former Member
0 Kudos

thx very much for your answer.

port 4239 is free at the beginning. after starting the installation, it is occupied by a java.exe. port 21212 is then also occupied by a java.exe. both of them by a "SAP Java VM Runtime library"

two of them i see in the task manager. I also see two sapins.exe -> occupied by "sapinst"

sapins.exe -> occupied by "Program starter"