cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PI 7.3 Back up strategy Pros and cons of a PreProd Environment

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello experts

My discussion is about PI architectural strategy and would like your valuable inputs on the topic . I am a newbie when it comes to PI system design and basis activities sp please excuse my lack of knowledge.

1. I would like to to know what are best practices for backing up PI systems ( how often , what needs backing up etc..)

2. When a system copy from LIVE is performed on a system how can we prevent Communication channels from processing LIVE data?

3. What are the Pos and cons of having a Pre prod PI system ? ( how is preprod configured so that it never processes LIVE data ) ?

4. Is it a good practice to isolate PI systems from the rest of SAP stack so that PI is viewed as an independent middle ware application? This is to avoid  PI being dragged on to patching , upgrade train along with other systems in SAP landscape.

Looking forward to your replies !

Regards

Venkat.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

former_member184720
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

1. I would like to to know what are best practices for backing up PI systems ( how often , what needs backing up etc..)

>>>> If you don't get any response here, may be you can post this question @

Help Documentation : Backup/Restore and Recovery - Administering Process Integration (PI) - SAP Library

2. When a system copy from LIVE is performed on a system how can we prevent Communication channels from processing LIVE data?

>>>> Before taking system copy, make sure that the communication channels are in stopped state so that when it is restored the channel would be in the same state.

You must adjust the channel configurations before starting them.

3. What are the Pos and cons of having a Pre prod PI system ? ( how is preprod configured so that it never processes LIVE data ) ?