cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding GRC

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am very new to this domain and want to gain a good knowledge of it for practical purposes. I have started with reading various documments on GRC on the whole. I get a lot of functional material, but I am unable to comprehend it technically.

I also realize that no one has provided (or can provide...am not sure) a solution that ensures full compliance under SOX and other such acts. So do we try to look into some specific areas under one act only and try to make our processes compliant by implementing various controls?

Please correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Latika.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

It is conceptually impossible to provide a blanket 'solution' for you. Each organisation is different and has completely different GRC solutions. Rather than seeking a solution to GRC, you should be seeking an <b>approach</b> to developing a solution for your organisation.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Ramesh,Justin

So what I have understood from your replies is that a "solution" suitable for one organization may or may not be relevant for the other. That is our effort should first be at understanding the current processes of the organization and then modify the processes (if necessary) so that they are GRC enabled and during this excercise we may or may not be complying to any specific act like SOX.

Is it correct?

Regards,

Latika.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Latika,

You are correct.

Every firm has processes peculiar to its own.Understanding the existing process is the crucial first step.GRC helps implementing the best practices in the processes and thus enables the firm towards the compliances.

Regards,

Ramesh

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Latika,

The GRC does not have the tag of any specific Act,Rules,Regulations etc.