cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Server-Side Cache

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hey guys! Being an ABAP developer for almost 8 years, I'm having a good time learning SAP Netweaver Gateway.

I'm not sure if this is a very basic question, but here it goes: Am I able to cache entries retrieved from backend inside my service runtime artifacts, so I don't have to access the DB every time my service is called?

When I first started reading about Gateway, I understood that I wouldn't be able to it. One of the RESTful services principles is "Stateless Communication", which means no session state is held by the server, therefore server-side data caching wouldn't be possible.

But as I started learning about $top, $skip and paging, I wondered if there's any way to cache data on server-side, as some service calls could result in really large amount of data being fetched from the backend (like BSEG table). Imagine browsing BSEG for page 1, then 2, then 3, then 1 again, and so on... That triggered my "Performance Issues Alert", and that's why I raised this question. I found some stuff about server-side paging, but I couldn't understand how to implement such thing...

Like I said, I'm very noob regarding Gateway, so forgive me if this doesn't make any sense at all

Thanks!

- Mauricio

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member184867
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

In the current released version it is not possible..

But as I started learning about $top, $skip and paging, I wondered if there's any way to cache data on server-side, as some service calls could result in really large amount of data being fetched from the backend (like BSEG table). Imagine browsing BSEG for page 1, then 2, then 3, then 1 again, and so on... That triggered my "Performance Issues Alert", and that's why I raised this question. I found some stuff about server-side paging, but I couldn't understand how to implement such thing...