cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Learning SAP Basis

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I was hired to be an SAP Basis Engineer, however, I have no prior experience in SAP. I have spent the last week reading SAP administration books from SAP Press, browsing the internet for information, and asking various coworkers for their advice in learning how to complete job tasks.

Starting my second week of learning Basis, I am still unable to find the SAP Mini Basis system I have read about online. It seems that the trial software was available a few years back, but since then all the links have died. I would like to download this software so that I can get experience with the actual SAP GUI and or configuring a system even if it is only a limited and simplified version. Is there still some form of trial software out there that I can get? I understand that learning such a complicated system takes time. However, I feel like the ability to work in a test environment of some sort such as the SAP Mini system would be extremely beneficial to solidifying my knowledge in various areas.

In the event there is truly no visualization software or other way to get practice with the software, does anyone have any other recommendation for learning how to administer and implement SAP NetWeaver and its components. Right now, I am reading the SAP AS ABAP - System Administration book from SAP Press. The book is giving me a good conceptual understanding of the system and its' components. However, as I said I feel like I am missing some of the resources to truly absorb a working knowledge of the system.

Thanks!

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

divyanshu_srivastava3
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi jim,

You just had a cup of water from this sea.

SAP Basis is huge.. it's endless..

We all started somewhat in the same manner and it takes time to imbibe how all this work.