cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to debug one RFC function module of SAP R3 4.6C from SAP PI?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I am a SAP ABAP developer and there is no mechanism in place(as of now) to see if the data from PI has come to SAP.

Is it possible to debug in SAP R3 4.6 C system from PI system?

It may be an irrelevant question from PI point of view but I need an answer. Thanks a lot

Mohit

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Mohit,

I have done this, but i don't recommend the way i did, but i can tell what i did:

I used of a debugging trick to change the RFC FM in productive code (receiving system), and added an infinite loop in which the code would be trapped only if it was my user processing the code:

====================================

WHILE sy-subrc = 0  AND SY-UNAME = 'MYUSER'.

ENDWHILE.

====================================

Then after triggering the process, i started SM50, selected my running process and in the upper menu -> Administration->Program->Debugging

By this point the program is started in debugging in the infinite loop, then i change the sy-subrc to get out of the loop and proceed the program in debugging.

If you are going to do it be careful, this is a last resort and isn't recommended to be done. I have done it when i was under pressure and i had to solve the issue immediatelly.

Obs.: The external breakpoint resource allows you to debug the process like this, but it depends on your system version. I see you are in 46C, so i don't know if it would work.

Regards,

Renan

iaki_vila
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Ho Mohit,

I usually use the externl breakpointed pinter by Renan, You only need to do the external breakpoint with the same user used in the communicattion channel. Then when you test from PI and the request arrives to R3 then a debug mode will be open automatically.

Regards.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Renan,