cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rewriting my WDJ project using J2EE EJB's

Former Member
0 Kudos

Greetings, experts.

I have constructed a Web Dynpro project which I am now converting to EAR, because it must run as an automated job via the portal Java Scheduler. It is a simple application that will read portal server tables, extract rows using SQL and JDBC, and then iterate through these rows, calling an R/3 RFC for each to read HR information (e-mail address) for the user ID in the result set. Finally, an e-mail is created and sent via simple SMTP. Very low volume application, intended to run daily during off hours. My application logic is complete, everything works great in my WDJ DC. Now to move everything to non-WebDynpro Java.

My skill set is specific to WDJ. I am new to J2EE development, and I am struggling with the mechanics of the EJB. So far, I have made the following correlations (specifically for my current task, not broadly accurate)

Message driven bean =  Application (because it is the Java Scheduler launch trigger, no problem here, this works great)

Session bean = component controller, business logic (methods, data declarations, import classes, etc....)

Entity bean = Model? Context? I need help here. I have tried to summarize my questions into these two:

Q. What is the J2EE functional equivalent of a component controller context node? Is it an entity bean, and do I need to use a dictionary project and/or a JPA project? In my WDJ application, I read the SQL result set into a design time defined context node, with elements corresponding to the returned data fields. It shouldn't be a difficult task, but I am inexperienced, and I keep getting hung up on persistence, stateful-ness, and data dictionary projects. Do I need them?