Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Addition of New Coding Mask - impacts

sudeep_a
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Dear Experts,

I'm new to PS module and have only basic knowledge about this module. I have a query related to the coding mask.

My customer uses a coding mask like ABC-000.00.00.00 (ABC is the Project coding key). Now they want to introduce a new coding mask with 4 digit after the coding key like DEF-0000.00.00.00. There are many projects in the Production system with coding key ABC, but no projects with DEF.

If we create a new coding mask DEF as above, what are the impacts? Whether the user will be able to use the old ABC projects as well as DEF projects? will there be any inconsistencies? what are the aspects we need to take care while introducing the new coding mask?

Kindly let me know the impacts. Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Sudeep.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

My customer uses a coding mask like ABC-000.00.00.00 (ABC is the Project coding key). Now they want to introduce a new coding mask with 4 digit after the coding key like DEF-0000.00.00.00.

Yes you can create new coding mask with KEY DEF (In PS , we called it PRJID)

Use Tcode OPSJ for creating new ID and mask.

If we create a new coding mask DEF as above, what are the impacts?

There will be no impact on existing system, Coding mask is configured for creating Project starting with PRJID as per your coding mask.

So if you wana create like with  DEF then you must configured coding mask for key/PRJID DEF. So whenever you create new project with DEF , system will first check whether DEF PRJID exists in Coding mask list, if yes then it proceed.

Whether the user will be able to use the old ABC projects as well as DEF projects? will there be any inconsistencies?

User can use old coding mask also. System will pick coding mask as per your Project ID (DEF in your case). There is no any problem with that.