cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is data compression all automatic? Or does manual steps occur in HANA Studio

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

I'm new to HANA and have been leveraging SCN in a BIG way to answer my questions (thanks everyone for your contributions). This is my first post as I was unable to find an answer to my current question .

I've been reading up on data compression in HANA and I learned that there are different techniques, such as Dictionary, Cluster, and Run-length encoding.

My Question is: Is the compression automatic? Or does it need to be modeled within HANA Studio? Let's use Dictionary Encoding as an example. Are there algorithms in place within HANA that will automatically aggregate values so only distinct values remain? Will the attribute vector  and inverted indexed tables automatically be created?

Just as some background, this is what I am basing my question on:

http://www.agilityworks.co.uk/our-blog/demystifying-the-column-store-%E2%80%93-viewing-column-store-...

Thank you!

Kyle

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Kyle,

Compression will be done automatically. Data base layer/engine will take care of this part.

Using HANA studio you can aggregtae the values. For ex: If you want to present data in reoport with/with out aggregation, that will be your choice. With aggregation, aggregated data will be displayed in report and with out aggregation detailed(distinct) data will be displayed. This option is available in calluculation view. I hope we have check box while creating calc view.

Thanks,

Phani

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you everyone for your responses.Very helpful and much appreciated

Kyle

Former Member
0 Kudos

Compression is automatic.

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Luckily just CIA and not NSA (couldn't resist).

justin_molenaur2
Contributor
0 Kudos