cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PB 12.5 Classic how to return a C# dll array

Former Member
0 Kudos

I created a dll in visual studio and using it in PB.  I am able to connect to the dll with no problems from PB.

If I call a function on the dll with a return of int or string it works fine but when I need to return an array/structure I get

"error calling external function"  How can/do you pass data (rows) back from a dll and into PB?

Thanks

Dave V.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

How are you defining the structure in C#?  Are there any non-standard datatypes?

And how are you declaring the method call in PB?  You should define a similar structure class in PB, and use that as the class of the return value or the byRef argument.

-Paul-

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Paul

Here is how I am declaring the structure (FIY.. c# created in Visual Studio Express 2013)

its coded in the class....(by the way I am new to C# so hopefully I defined it correctly)

(sorry had to uses pictures for some reason copy/paste into this window does not work causes to not be editable)

then in the method

In powerbuilder classic 12.5

I created a structure object to have the same fields and datatypes as the structure in c#.

I create an ole and do a connecttonewobject and call the method in this case GetFolder..

If I changed the return of the method to be int and return an number it works find but when I try to return the structure that's when I get an error of method not found... I also tried to create a simple function that just returns a simple array of int[] with only 3 items in it and that also did not work.  Seems like PB classic just chokes on arrays/structs...  or am I defining it wrong...

Any ideas...

Former Member
0 Kudos

OK - well, that's the C# side and it all looks fine.  That was the first half of my question...

What does your method declaration AND invocation code look like in PB?