cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error with Read "expected type is Edm.Binary" using /IWFND/GW_CLIENT

0 Kudos

First and foremost I am a Gateway Newbie... I  created a Gateway service via SEGW to read incident reports in EHS. We are developing a concept mobile application for that will create and read EHS incident reports, based upon HANA PA. I tested the BAPI's  BAPI_BUS1240_GETDETAIL for the read and BAPI_BUS1240_CREATE for the Create (both via SE37 ) and they worked perfectly.   When creating the gateway Models, I am getting the error.

Invalid key predicate type for 'Scenario'. Expected type is 'Edm.Binary'</message>

Yet the entity type it is defined as the following

Scenario1Edm.Binary000
KeyDate1Edm.DateTime000
RecordNo0Edm.String0020
CreatedOn0Edm.DateTime000
CreatedBy0Edm.String0012
Incident1Edm.String0020
Type0Edm.String003
Plant0Edm.String004
Status0Edm.String005
Event0Edm.String0060
DamageType0Edm.String0021
FunctLoc0Edm.String0030
Equipment0Edm.String0018
Langu0Edm.String00

Here is the URL I am submitting via /IWFND/GW_CLIENT

/sap/opu/odata/sap/ZINC_SRV/Zinc(Scenario='00',KeyDate='2014-05-06T00:00:00',Incident='00000000000000000016')

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for all of the assistance!!!

Chris

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

lukasz_grochal
Participant
0 Kudos

In the URL you've got Scenario='00' - I bet this is being interpreted as a string being sent and the service is expecting a Binary value.

According to OData documentation type Edm.Binary is an array of bytes up to 64 KB in size. Are you sure the type should be Binary? Won't Edm.String work?

0 Kudos

thank you for your response..

In SEGW, when I tried to change the Data Model Entity Set Property of Scenario from Edm.Binary to Edm.String, I get a hard Error.  "data source Attribute SCENARIO and model Property scenario have different types".  So I am not sure what to do here

Any advice is welcome. 

Do i have to handle this with ABAP?