cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Additional packaging material to be sold

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello guys,

I have worked with SAP as a user for quite some time but I am new to maintenance and support business so I need some help with following issue.

I have a situation where customer is asking for additional cardboard cover for every pallet shipped to him. Since the cover was not considered at the Finished Goods quotation process, our company wants to sell this cover, which the customer has agreed to. I am trying to find out what is the proper setup for this type of packaging material.

I can not put it into BOM, as the cover is not relevant to production and since we can ship incomplete pallets it's consumption would be unstable. I have tried putting it into the packaging instruction of a pallet so it gets picked up when packing an outbound delivery (which it gets) but I still can not figure out how to put this material on an invoice. The remaining packaging is returnable (and owned by customer if I remember correctly) so it is OK that it is not in the invoice. But I need the cover to appear in the invoice along side the Finished goods sold.

I have looked through the discussions in this forum but most of the discussions deal with returnable packaging so it was not that much help.

Thanks

Martin

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Lakshmipathi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

One approach would be extend the sales view for that packaging material to bill and set MRP Type as ND so that the requirements wont be popped up to production. Now have this packaging material as a Sales BOM with item category TAX, so that system will allow you to do PGI and invoice.

G. Lakshmipathi

Former Member
0 Kudos

Well, I have checked our setup and I see that we do not use sales BOM, only universal (BOM Usage = 3).