cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pessimistic Locking mechanism in SAP Gateway.

velsankar_sundar
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am new to SAP Gateway. I know there are two types of locking mechanism ( optimistic and pessimistic) . Optimistic we do by etag and if-match.

Is there any idea of how to do by pessimistic approach.

For example we are reading a contract and then updating it. So, in get_entity we have to put the lock while reading and we have to unlock while updating. But how does it works. Whether the lock automatically get released after the get_entity method.

Kindly guide me in proceeding further.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member184867
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Sundar,

Here is my opinion :

Gateway is Completely Stateless till the current version which is SP8. So Pessimistic Locking would not be available out of the box by Gateway. You need to implement your custom logic to achieve this behaviour. However simulating a Pessimistic Lock in a complete stateless architecture will lead to many complexities which often might lead to inconsistency in the Application.  As mentioned by Krishna, you can store lock information in some table in backend , but it might get messy very easily. I would not recommend to do so. However if you are really keen to do Pessimistic Locking kind of mechanism, what about the following approach -----

1. In the OData service, let us have an extra Entity  called LOCK which has properties such as USER, RESOURCE_ID(such as contract ID),DATE,TIME. USER and RESOURCE_ID is the key in this entity. This data is stored in a table in database.