cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regarding Defining Of Cardinality ............

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to Universe Designer and

From the Basic Knowledge that I have on universe designer and from the documents, I cam to know that it is mandatory to define a cardinality for the join between two tables.

Recently I have been into a support project and in the universe I can see joins but there are no cardinalities being defined for any of the join.

Please give me some idea on this..................

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (5)

Answers (5)

Former Member
0 Kudos

HI..

Using cardinalities

Cardinality is a property of a join that describes how many rows in one table

match rows in another table.

Cardinality is expressed as the minimum and maximum number of rows in

a column at one end of a join, that have matching rows in the column at the

other end of the join.

The minimum and the maximum number of row matches can be equal to 0,

1, or N. A join represents a bidirectional relationship, so it must always have

two cardinalities, one for each end of the join.

Example: Cardinality of a join

The two tables Customer and Reservations are linked by a join.

The cardinalities in the above join can be expressed as follows:

How are cardinalities used In Designer?

The cardinality of a join does not have a role in the SQL generated when

you run a query. However, Designer uses cardinalities to determine contexts

and valid query paths.

A context is a collection of joins which provide a valid query path. You use

contexts to resolve join problems that can return too many or too few rows

because of the way that tables are linked in the target database. Contexts

are described in Detecting and Solving Join Problems

Contexts affect the SQL generated for a query as they either direct the end

user to take a particular join path, or solve a join path problem: