Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File Adapter

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I am new to file adapter FCC, earlier worked on message protocol = file

Questions:

1) I am unable to understand field fixed lengths, can you explain with an example to understand better, how to calculate the  field length numbers, when to use field fixed lenghts and when to use filed separator option

2) When to use key field...is it mandatory to use key field and when not to use

Points will be awarded based on good example

Thank you

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Sorry for late response

Thank you for your inputs

the last questions I have

1) I have data with comma separated values, if I miss a value Ex order 4, how does this work

Ex : order1, order2, order3, , order5

2) if I have to process half a million records using file adapter I have to use record set per message Ex 5000, this record set of 5000 will be considered as a 1 payload and process it for every 5000 records or the adapter will wait for complete half million records to receive at IE to make it as a single payload and then process it

3) I found record set name field in not mandatory in FCC, then why do I have to use ignore record set set name  = true mandatory

Thank you

former_member184720
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

>>> I have data with comma separated values, if I miss a value Ex order 4, how does this work

Nothing. Your field have a blank value. FCC will not fail.

------------

2) if I have to process half a million records using file adapter I have to use record set per message Ex 5000, this record set of 5000 will be considered as a 1 payload and process it for every 5000 records or the adapter will wait for complete half million records to receive at IE to make it as a single payload and then process it

For every 5000 it'll create a new message. It'll not for all half million.

------------