cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a CE function with dummy table

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I have a code that works in sql form in a stored procedure (YEAR1 is an output parameter with 2 fields YEAR and HIKE).

DECLARE var1 INTEGER

SELECT YEAR(CURRENT_DATE) INTO var1 FROM DUMMY; 

YEAR1 = select "YEAR","HIKE" from HIKE_YEAR 

WHERE YEAR = :var1; 

Now I want to do this in CE functions. What will be the statements in CE for the above code?

I am confused on how to convert SELECT YEAR(CURRENT_DATE) INTO var1 FROM DUMMY;  into CE

Please help

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Lars,

Thanks for the reply. I am a beginner into HANA SQL and am going through a lot of SAP's own presentations on CE and other stuff.

As you can see in one of the slides I've pasted below.. I've been led to believe that CE is the holy grail of hana customizations.. and at this point I am able to write the SQL codes but am bothered by translating them to CE.. again the ppt says to not use SQL and CE together.. which adds to my frustrations

lbreddemann
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hey Sammy

Ok, a formal comment to this would include things like:

• the slide doesn't state the HANA version it refers to, nor the time it has been created
  • the SQL and the CE-functions are not equivalent (SQL performs UNION while CE-functions run a UNION AL
  • the kind/volume of data this runs on is not mentioned
  • the query logic is trivial here

And sure enough, if you actually go on today (e.g, on rev. 70) you can build an example where the CE-functions are faster.

The question now is: would your application user notice the difference (say 100 ms compared to 200 ms)?

And what's the reason for the difference? It's important to understand this.

For example in a test case I quickly build up, I've seen that the SQL query heavily uses parallel processing (even employs the OLAP engine for parallel aggregation).