cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not able to modify a Contact's user ID through scripting

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to scripting and am facing the following issue in a Script Definition. In Supplier Management screen of Sourcing, when a business user creates a new Contact for a supplier, I need to replace the contact's user ID with another value. This is the code snippet that I tried:

currentRec = doc.getObjectReference();

contactHome = (ContactIBeanHomeIfc)IBeanHomeLocator.lookup(session, ContactIBeanHomeIfc.sHOME_NAME);

contact = contactHome.find(currentRec);

.. some more lines of code to print out the contact first name, user ID etc which worked fine..

contact.setName("Hello123");

This script gave the following inline script evaluation error while saving the contact:

Error executing script: Sourced file: inline evaluation of: ``import com.sap.odp.api.ibean.*; import com.sap.odp.api.ibean.common.*; import . . . '' : Method Invocation contact.setName.

The script definition is for Class 600 - Contact. I checked the Reference Guide and found that User ID display field in UI is mapped to database field NAME and the corresponding getter/setter methods in the bean are getName and setName.. getName() gives me the user ID that the user enters while creating the record. But when I try to modify that value in a pre-save script using the above code I am getting this error..

Can anyone please help me out? Why is Sourcing not letting me call the setName() method?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi

Can you please explain the need for replacing the contact, i do not think system will allow to change the user id of the current contact, what you can do is if you do not need the previous contact then inactivate it and create a new one.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Dhiraj,