Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

One plant for each project

former_member707808
Discoverer
0 Kudos

Hi everybody.

I'm very new at SAP world, being MM and PS my main areas.

In our current project, the customer and some external consultants are insisting in having exactly one plant for each project (ie. creating a new Plant for every new Project).

I don't have much experience, but this decision stunned me and I know it has a lot of consequences. We have proposed Project Stock as an alternative to achieve the customer requirements (material valuation at Project level), but I think they'll go with 1 Plant - 1 Project.

I want to know if you have some experience with this configuration, and ask you to show us the problems we'll have to face, in the short and in the long run.

Regards.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

former_member210342
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Emilio,

1 plant for 1 project can be maintained...

It depends on that what hierarchy maintained in your company.

You can check in KCH5(profit center hierarchy), OKENN(cost center hierarchy)

For project you can do like that.

Create project profile in OPSA and plant and company code left empty there in organization tab.

While creating project in cj20n with new project profile ...

system will ask plant and company code maintain there

then your project become specific to on plant.

Try this in development ... I am sure it will work,

And can you tell me what hierarchy is maintained in your company b/w company code and plant, cost center, profit center.

And how you are creating project recently?

Thanks

Rahul

sushrut_sheth
Active Participant
0 Kudos

I agree with you

But the condition is whether is it really required to go for one plant for one project,

It is always a new process  to go every time with configuration of the Plant rollout in MM or in FI,increasing dependencies

Master data creation (work centers/material master extension)