Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Users have more than one profile for the same role

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

As I said in my earlier post I'm rather new to SAP.

I'm doing now the security audit of my SAP system. In particular, I'm checking whether business users have access to DEBUG functionality.

I have run report 'Users by complex selection criteria' and found certain number of such users. Then I looked further and discover that all these users have role X assigned to them. The profile P2 of the role X displayed in PFCG has DEBUG functionality deactivated. After second look I discovered that all these users have earlier profile P1 for the same role X assigned to these users. This profile P1 contains the functionality in question.

I solved the issue by revoking the role X from the users and assigning it again. Both P1 and P2 profiles were removed from the users and only P2 was reassigned again.

I used to think that role may have only the profile that is displayed in PFCG? Also, I used to think that if the role profie is regenerated the newly generated profile automatically replace the old one assigned to users. Am I wrong?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Bernhard_SAP
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Hi,

you need to devide between what you see in PFCG (AGR_*tables) and generated profiles (US*-tables like usr10,usr12,etc.).

Of course if you change a profile in PFCG and generate it (means put the AGR-table content into usr-tables) this change will get effective only upon performing the usercomparison.

So pls countercheck, if pfcg_time_dependency or the appropriate variant of rhautupd_new is scheduled in your system. In many cases such inconsistencies have been caused by role imports, when admins failed to run the comparison after import.