cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where is the "Model" In the MVC paradigm of WD4A?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All.

I started WD4A around a month back. I have gone through various tutorials. I have never worked before with an MVC paradigm.

I can now very well visualize a View and a controller - since these are the terms I read and encounter very often in WD4A.

But where does the MODEL fit in?

I asked my friends in WD4J and they say over there they need Model to wrap a BAPI call. In WD4A since there is no need to wrap a BAPI Call, does a model really exist?

Can someone please shed light on this concept? Thanks.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member196517
Contributor
0 Kudos

Thats correct Aishi, there should be a complete seperation between UI and your business logic so what generally is done is a new webdynpro component is made without any views , its basic functionality is to interact with core classes and function modules to get data. Now another WD component is made along with all required views and this component uses the previous one to fetch the data.

thanks

Anuj

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks everyone.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Models exist in WDA.

They are i FUNCTIONs or CLASSes that you call from Comp Controller.

No access to business data directly in WDA.

Simple acid test, could some achieve some result in WDJ ?

If so they called a class/service/function , they used a model wrapper.

in WDA. The Function or Class is the model that may or maynot be a wrapper.

If you see SELECT statements in WDA componentsor views, you know they programmer doesnt care about MVC.

WDA allows you to not do MVC. But you need to be lazy and a little foolish to do so.

MODEL WDCs were originally part of design.

The use of them is not enforced since MVC is still possible with model components.

Of course now people can abuse the freedom. but a price worth paying.

cheers

Phil