SAP for Retail Discussions
Join conversations about personalization, omnichannel strategies, and operational excellence in retail using SAP for Retail software.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

POS to POSDM data transfer

Former Member
0 Kudos

Dear Friends

Since I am new to retail, few questions

1. How do I know if data from POS system are transferred through IDOC or BAPI ? Which one is recommended method by SAP ?

2. Generally how data are transferred from POSDM to ECC and BW ? is it scheduled in batch job during night or data is keep posted during business day. I know that POS system sends data to POSDM quite frequently.

Thanks

Kishore

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

vikrant_mohite
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

1. How do I know if data from POS system are transferred through IDOC or BAPI ? Which one is recommended method by SAP ?

Ask you POSDM consultant what method they have used to send data from POS to POSDM (Usually it is POS to PI to POSDM).

SAP has given choice of sending it through BAPI, IDocs and though ES.

I will suggest you to use BAPI or ES if your POS is third party.

2. Generally how data are transferred from POSDM to ECC and BW ? is it scheduled in batch job during night or data is keep posted during business day. I know that POS system sends data to POSDM quite frequently.

Transfer of data is happened on the scheduling of tasks i.e. either collective or immediate.

If you are processing transaction is as soon as it is coming and task for BW is immediate it will send data to Delta Queue and then further BW will take care of it.

For ECC it depends on one step or two step. In case of two step aggregated data is sent to ECC for multiple transaction at Business Day/site/material/UOM level whereas one step sends data at transaction level.For ECC data will be sent through IDocs.

It can be schedule in batch depending on how frequently you want to update your follow on systems.