cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Removing an aggregate for a dimension

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello all,

I am new to BI and I was asked to help fix a performance issue for one of the reports.  One of the things that i noticed is that the SQL generated has a max on a nvarchar string (200 characters long) so the performance for the overall report is very bad (> 9 min for 500K recs), but if I execute the script by hand as seen in SCRIPT2, it takes less than a minute.

--SCRIPT2

SELECT

sum(Table2.Item_count),

Table1.NAME,

Table1.ID

FROM

Table2

INNER JOIN Table1 ON (Table1.ID = Table2.IntID)

GROUP BY

Table1.ID,

Table1.NAME

Below is a simplified version of the SQL script generated from the .UNV & .UNX:

--SCRIPT1

SELECT

sum(Table2.Item_count),

MAX( Table1.NAME ),

Table1.ID

FROM

Table2

INNER JOIN Table1 ON (Table1.ID = Table2.IntID)

GROUP BY

Table1.ID

My question is can I change a universe parameter to change the default aggregation of the string to not aggregate, but to place it into the group by as seen in SCRIPT2 as this impacts many other reports.

Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Updated info:

Using a BO 4.0 SP4 patch 9 environment.

Occurs for any string of any type in my environment (nvarchar/varchar/char) -- I don't have text fields.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Most likely the object which used expression Table1.NAME, is defined as a measure.. If its a Varchar field it should be defined as a dimension

Former Member
0 Kudos

Durgamadhab, it is a dimension not a measure.

Former Member
0 Kudos

It should not do a Max for a Dimension.. Is this a common behavior for all measures in this universe?  any other universe affected?

Also check if the projection for the measure is SUM or not...

Also how this dimension is defined? I hope there is no Max defined in dimension it self..

Former Member
0 Kudos