cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Result Recording

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi all,

Question 1 - I am fairly new in QM, and am wondering if there are any implication (i.e. negative aspect) when the Result Recording step are entirely skip and go straight towards Usage Decision? Implication in term of business process and system wise.

Question 2 - SAP QM system does not prohibit performing Usage Decision when Result Recording doesn't take place. Is there a way to enforce this?

The reason I am enquiring those questions is that my company QM process does not make Result Recording as compulsory step, but Usage Decision a must step (well, to release the QI stock).

Appreciate.

Daniel

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

anand_rao3
Active Contributor

Though looks simple but very important issue! Your observations are correct. I analyse this as below

1. The flow should be first result recording, then stock posting and then usage decision. (Albeit not defined anywhere so!)
  2. But we observe that SAP allows proceeding for UD even if results have not been recorded or UD can be done if no stocks are posted.

It really depends upon an industry how much importance it gives for result recording. I have seen that it becomes regular practice to give UD without result recording may be because of some dispatch urgencies or the unit doesn’t have enough man power for this work.

Sometimes if your vendor is certified, you don’t waste your time in carrying out result recording, as hardly you find any discrepancies. DMR also falls on the similar lines. Considering such circumstances, the optional entry also sounds ok.

On the other hand in pharmaceutical industry it becomes very essential to record batch wise inspection results to fulfill few norms.