cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upload File to ECC using PI

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to PI.Can you please help me with the below scenario using PI.

We have PDF files on a server drive that is NFS mounted to the PI system. We need create a DMS document and attach these files to the document.

We have a BAPI that can upload pdfs as DMS documents (CV01N t-code). How do I use PI to call the bapi (BAPI has the file and path as parameters).

I configured DMS document type to external numbering. I have to read the file name to take the 1st 10 chars of the file name to use as the document number. This will be unique by design.

BAPI is working within ECC.

Please help with steps in PI to move the file from External NFS mounted drive to ECC and then call this BAPI.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

former_member184720
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Do you have any mapping from file->RFC?

If not just develop a simple file to file pass through interface as explained in below blog.

http://www.saptechnical.com/Tutorials/XI/File2File/Demo1.htm

schedule your FM (calling this FM from a ABAP report)

Also have a look at the below thread on the same topic..

http://scn.sap.com/thread/1926202

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thank you Hareesh. This is going to help me get started.

No Mapping Needed. I have to read the file name to get the 1st 10 chars. I can do this in the BAPI in ECC.

We are on 7.1 of PI.  The screens in the link you have are different. Will try to see if I can make it work. Is there a link that has screens from 7.1?.

former_member184720
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Doesn't matter Gopi. It's the same approach for 7.0 and 7.1.

(in the screenshot, they have used FTP as transport protocol. you might have to use NFS as it's mounted directory for you)

If you are on 7.11 and above you can create Integrated configuration which runs on java stack.

Refer to Gagan's screenshot in the below thread