cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

System Copy - Refresh

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi there,

I am just about to start a system refresh from our ECC PROD system to our ECC QA.

I have been looking at the options available ( we currently use a 3rd party tool for our backups).

I have never done one of these before so please bear with me.

From what I have seen on SDN there are basically two options available to me. I'll be brief:

1) Restore the production database to the QA database from the latest offline backup

using the brrestore command.

2) Manually copy all datafiles from PROD to QA. Create new control file with new path to QA.

Then run recover database using backup controlfile until cancel

I suppose there is no right or wrong way. Just wondering what the pro's and con's are of each

of the above options are?

Many thanks

Andy

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Reagan
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

1) Restore the production database to the QA database from the latest offline backup using the brrestore command.

This is one of the standard practices.

2) Manually copy all datafiles from PROD to QA. Create new control file with new path to QA. Then run recover database using backup controlfile until cancel

Are you going to manually copy the datafile from the PRD system to the QUA system when the system is running ? Then this will not work. You need to either put the database in backup mode or shut it down.

Regards

RB

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello RB,

If using option 2) then yes I would shut it down before copying all the datafiles.

Just wondering what the real differences are? Most people suggest option1.

Would you always go with option1 unless there is no backup to use i.e. corrupt backup tape

this would then force you to use option 2

Reagan
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Kudos

Hello Andy

Both can be called as offline backups without RMAN.