cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP ME - Creating Custom Screens and Navigation Link

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Experts,

I am an MII consultant and very new to SAP ME and custom development.

There is a situation in my project where-in I have the following requirement:

1) In the SAP ME Screen, the user wants to see a new link added that opens a new custom screen developed using SAP ME SDK.

2) He wants to create a new request, save it and then exit the screen.

I did a lot of research and reading around how that can be done. Finally I have come up with the following step-by-step approach.

Not sure if the elaborated version is ok to be shared on the forum. Moderators please mind me if not.

Please have a look at the following steps and let me know if I my understanding is correct and if i am wrong, where and how.

Your support and guidance will help me a lot. Thank you.

1) Install SAP ME SDK on your machine. (Build tool is not required)
2) In Eclipse, Go to Web Application project to make code changes.
3) In the Web Folder, create your JSP for the User Interface. As many JSP as required.
4) For obtaining data from SAP ME, follow 1 of the 2 options:
           a) Available PAPI Web Services
           b) Direct Database connection with SAP ME WIP Database
5) For posting data back in SAP ME, follow 1 of the 2 options:
           a) Available PAPI Web Services
           b) Direct Database connection with SAP ME WIP Database
6) Go to Project Build Resources --> Script --> build.xml. Right Click build.xml and
      Run on Ant. From the options of Targets, select build.web.
7) The war file can be found in SAP\SAPME\SDK\IDE\build\results\server\package.sca\ear or SAP\SAPME\SDK\IDE\build\results\server\sda.
      The name of the war file is: me.common.web-6.0.4.0.war
😎 In the Deployment Perspective of the Eclipse, Import the Deployable archive:    me.common.web-6.0.4.0.war