cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP Mobile??? What is happenning here??

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am an old school SAP ABAP Developer who is struggling to keep pace with the latest SAP technologies..

When ever I try(been trying for an year now i guess) to understand SAP's Mobile technologies it only confuses me..

The SAP For Mobile part of the SAP website is also confusing..

Can someone explain in plain simple clear terminology what are the SAP Mobile technologies?

What would be a logical technology to learn, for an ABAP Developer with old school webdynpro, bsp, webui, javascript experience ?

I hear sybase, syclo, agentry, sap ui5, afaria, fiori, cordova, SAP Mobile Platform 3.0 etc etc etc... Can someone explain what is the difference between each of them, why is SAP confusing people with soo many tools if all of them achieve the same results?

I have no knowledge of mobile development but why wouldnt we just use the tools that Apple iOS or Google Android provide for App development????????

How are companies deciding on which tools and technologies to use in the Mobile space?

Are HTML5, Javascript and CSS the only common skills required for all the tools???

Message was edited by: Krishna Krishna

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

marcin_cholewczuk
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

From start I'm saying that I don't have any project expirience, so it may be that I'm not always right here, but main principles should be ok.

1. Creation of application
  You have 3 possibilities to create an application for mobile devices

1.1 Web application
          You're creating web site for mobile solution. Every mobile phone with good enough

web browser can use it.

1.2 Native application
          You're creating application in native development tool. Android is using Eclipse, Windows

(visual studio?) and Apple have their own enviorments.

1.3 Hybrid application
          This is a mix of 1.3.1 and 1.3.2.